Curaçao = Cure a Sow

Standard
Punda and the Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge – a UNESCO world heritage site.

Hello Lady Sensory,

Your package was sent out on February 9, 2012. It usually takes 14-21 working days to arrive at its destination. At this moment it has been 12 working days.
Please let us know when it arrives….
Every time I place an order, I forget how long this package takes to get to the U.S. and wind up looking like an impatient shrew.  If I tell you what’s inside you’re totally going to think I’m looney-tunes.  Ever since I hightailed it to Curaçao two years ago, I’ve been purchasing this treat for myself at least once a year.  I’ll make this my first installment regarding my trip to Curaçao, which is pronounced exactly as described in the title of this post. Contrary to popular belief, it does not rhyme with Morocco.  I picked this destination due to the wide array of things to do, but also for its reputation for being the current “hot destination” for arts, architecture and culture in the Caribbean.  I have to say, it did not disappoint.  I’m only going to cover some highlights for this particular post, but don’t worry – we’ll get to the rest (restaurants, a special day trip and my getting stranded in Aruba) at some point!
Curaçao is noted for its Dutch-influenced architecture (as pictured above) as well as this nifty floating market (below).  The boats come in from Venezuela and offer fresh produce and other goods.  There are also local artisans and craftspeople offering their items nearby.

Floating market in Curaçao

I’ll have you know that by the time I arrived in Curaçao I was a hot mess. Seriously.  I had recently been in a car accident and had some ridiculous work drama going on that anyone who has ever worked in sales could appreciate.  We won’t dwell on that now, but I will say that my stress-induced, adult-onset acne was a living reminder of Ramona Quimby’s sister, who was nicknamed ‘Pizza Face,’ in one of those Beverly Cleary novels.  So when I got to the hotel and still had some daylight hours to mosey around, I headed to the Kura Hulanda Museum which is located right on the property of the Kura Hulanda Resort which features African art and exhibits revolving around the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.

Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue

Liqueur distillery at Chobolobo. Hey, it was 5:00 somewhere....

The work of local artist, Nena Sanchez

While in Curaçao, I went to an aquarium, took a jeep excursion up to Christoffel National Park, visited a Synagogue, hit the Landhuis Chobolobo to sample some Senior Curaçao of Curaçao liqueur, photographed tons of architecture and managed to get sunburned three times despite liberal application of sunscreen – the sun is very intense there!  It’s relatively easy and inexpensive to get around Curaçao by bus if you don’t mind taking your time to get from place to place.

He's ready for his close-up!

This one looks cray-cray! Fortunately, they don't let you feed the adults.

Getting back to the point of this post, the coolest mini-excursion was the trip to the Ostrich Farm and Aloe Plantation.  There is an African restaurant there as well as an African art store. It sounds gross, but the ostrich are farmed for their meat and bones and the bones are used by the African Artists for carving and crafts.  There is no waste on the farm – they are very eco-conscious and use all parts of the animal. The Aloe Plantation is under the same owner and it is all organic and no pesticides are used.  They offer tours of the farm where you can feed an ostrich. Of course one managed to bite me – but it was more like a hard pinch and no skin was broken.  After finishing up my tour, I eased on down the road to the Aloe Plantation.  The Aloe Plantation was a world of splendor. They fed everyone samples of aloe plant because it has curative properties. They even have an aloe juice of sorts. While that’s all fine and good, I preferred aloe on my thrice-sunburned skin and would prefer drinking booze versus aloe. It’s not very tasty. Everybody has their something.  Right? So this is what I like and use and re-order: Aloe Pure Gel which is 98% pure aloe  with lavender & tea tree oils to help balance everything out. Additionally I like the Night Cream which has aloe as well as shea butter and ostrich oil. That Night Cream was amazing for my sad sunburned skin, but unfotunately it didn’t keep me from peeling.
I’m happy to report that by the time I departed, the sunburn and zits were not as bad, and I totally attribute that to the aloe…which is why I am a repeat offender in international retail therapy (a.k.a. product whore).

My car seems to be parked at the Aloe Plantation, but I did not drive to Curaçao.

The workshop of another local artist, Serena Janet Israel, who makes Chichi sculptures (older, wiser sister). The workshop is located on the road between the Ostrich Farm and the Aloe Plantation.

View from the Aloe Plantation

3 thoughts on “Curaçao = Cure a Sow

Leave a Reply

