Like Sands Through the Hour Glass…These are the Daydrinks of Our Lives

Standard

What? Like your childhood never consisted of your mom watching Days of Our Lives while she ironed your father’s shirts?  How about the storyline where Marlena (she’s had maybe 10 last names, so just insert the one you like best here) turns into Satan?  And how many lives does Stefano DiMera get, anyway?  He should have a second career as a Fancy Feast cat.  Maybe your mom was into All My Children and Erica Kane.  How do I know?  This was totally normal stuff for me, a child of the 80s.  Children are going to grow up and eventually encounter these personality types at work.  Thus, it’s important to expose them to the soaps and the drama at a young age so they are prepared to deal with adult-things like kidnapping, multiple affairs and spouses, genetically engineered babies, and encounters with people possessed by Satan.  Wait, what is the point of this post?

I have had an interesting week and so I’ll spare you the sordid details.  Mainly because I’d rather educate you on a drink that has a raw egg in it, you know, for Easter and stuff.  Did I just hear you say, “Ew?”  Whatever.  Egg-white produces a delightful foamy, frothy effect in cocktails.  My parents used to put them in their blended whiskey sours and I’ve wondered why today’s sours lack the body. Well, that’s because most public establishments don’t want to risk giving customers salmonella and some have even been cited for use of raw eggs.  That’s okay.  You can simply whip yours up at home and enjoy it any time you like.  Just play it safe and don’t give raw eggs to the kids or grandma.  While food poisoning is generally no good for anyone involved, it can be very bad for the young, the old, and immune-system-compromised individuals.  This one makes a great brunch drink a.k.a. daydrink.  I decided to whip this up after making a rather crappy brunch of gingerbread pancakes and eggs.  A few folks know that I have a thing for gingerbread, but not for gingers.  The gingerbread pancakes came from a seasonal Stonewall Kitchen mix that usually turns out well so I’m totally blaming it on the use of an electric skillet.  The thing stunk up the kitchen and produced unevenly-cooked pancakes.  I’ve decided it’s no longer necessary to have one if I have a cast-iron skillet.  In fact, I’m officially tossing it, which also means I officially don’t have to clean it!  While rummaging through the cupboard to locate said skillet, I discovered a never-used smoothie maker that was re-gifted to me.  Hmmm, I’m not really into smoothies, but methinks I could definitely get into a frozen daydrink.

Since I won’t be at brunch with you as a comedic-relief or a buffer tomorrow, you’re definitely going to need a drink to deal with that mother-in-law of yours.  Why not make it this one?

Lady Sensory’s This Egg Hunt Just Got Way More Interesting Peruvian Pisco Sour:

1 cup Pisco (Pisco is single-grape brandy made from the Macho grape of Peru – I used Macchu Pisco)

1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon & lime juice (I used 1 lemon and 2 limes)

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 egg-white

Angostura bitters (a few drops)

About 3-4 cups ice cubes

I actually mixed everything but the egg-white & ice first and chilled for a little bit in the fridge to help the sugar dissolve. Separate the egg yolk from the white & discard yolk.  Add the pisco, lemon/lime juice, and sugar mixture, the egg-white and bitters into the blender and top with the ice.  Blend on high speed until finely puréed.  Pour into two large glasses and garnish with a couple drops of bitters, and a lime if you would like.  I used mint because I had it handy and like me, it’s kind of unconventional and fun.  The purpose of the garnish is to help eliminate any remaining egg-like smell on the nose (you might get a slight whiff before you sip, but it’s more musty than sulfur-like, if that makes sense). 

See, I’ll be with you in ‘spirit’ tomorrow…quite literally.  Hippity-hoppity, Easter’s on its way, yo.

One thought on “Like Sands Through the Hour Glass…These are the Daydrinks of Our Lives

Leave a Reply

