Bad Backs and Om…elettes

Standard

Have you missed me?  I’m sorry.  It’s been a trying time in the world of Lady Sensory.  My car overheated after the Magic Mike viewing party last Friday and I had to coerce my friends to cart me around town like Jessica Tandy in Driving Miss Daisy.  I now have a rental for the next week or so while my car is in intensive care.  I also had to pay a visit to the chiropractor for my achy back and hip.  As it turns out, I have crappy feet that have somehow managed to twist my pelvis.  Joy.  I’ll be resolving this with some orthotic inserts, several more trips to the back-cracker, and possibly some restorative yoga.  I’m not a yoga person.  Contorting myself into odd positions, breathing deeply and moaning, “Ommmmmm,” seems like something I should be doing with someone else, but I guess I’ll give some gentle back-care yoga a whirl.

While we’re on the subject of, “Om,” all this twisted-pelvis excitement has given me the opportunity to wake up before 5 AM.  This is primarily because I’m in pain, but I’ve been making use of my time with creative breakfast-making.  This morning’s breakfast was a delicious omelette composed of public market treasures and made in my trusty 12-inch cast-iron skillet.  If you don’t have one of these, no worries, you can make it in a large pan or an electric skillet. 

Lady Sensory’s Wild Thing (Camatkarasana) Ommmmmmm-elette:

1 tbsp butter

2 large or extra-large eggs

2 tbsp cold tap water

1 oz of Red Dragon cheese, chopped into 1/4 inch chunks (this is a specialty Welsh cheddar blended with mustard seed and ale. If you can’t get it use a sharp white cheddar; and if you aren’t heading to work, just drink the ale.)

6-8 blanched asparagus spears, chopped into 1-inch pieces

1 tsp chives, finely chopped

Salt and pepper, to taste

On the stove, pre-heat your skillet over medium heat for about 5-10 minutes.  Place 1 tbsp butter in the skillet and allow to melt. Over time, your skillet will season and require less and less oil, but we’re dealing with eggs here so let’s make the clean-up super easy. In a bowl, whisk together the eggs, water, salt, pepper and chives.  Pour the mixture into the hot, buttered skillet and allow to set (egg will appear solid and should take 1-2 minutes).  Add the cheese and asparagus pieces to the center of the egg mixture and allow cheese to melt for a minute or two.  With a pancake flipper, fold the sides of the omelette over the center, press lightly, then flip the omelette to help it seal together. Cook for about another minute or two, until eggs are lightly golden, then transfer to a plate and serve.  You could also make this with egg whites if you are watching your cholesterol.  Allow the cast-iron skillet to cool and then scrub with very hot water, kosher salt, and a dish brush. Do not use soap or put the skillet in the dishwasher or you will ruin the seasoning (and the non-stick finish you are trying to build).  Thoroughly wipe skillet dry with a cloth.

This breakfast is particularly helpful on days when you wake up too early or have chiro appointments in place of lunch.

4 thoughts on “Bad Backs and Om…elettes

    • It’s so good! The first time I tried it was at Solera Wine Bar and they don’t carry it at Wegmans. I found it at VM Giordano’s at the Public Market (cheese and olive shop in the brick building). So if you are ever up north, you know where to find it!

Leave a Reply

