Revenge of the Nerds

Standard

These Nerd Cookies were a big hit!

This past month was birthday month.  I never thought I would become one of those people who celebrates one day for an entire month but the celebrating has sort of evolved into a month-long process now.  The birthday shenanigans culminated last night and we celebrated my “Nerdy Thirtysomething.”  I made some tasty cookies that were palate-pleasing as well as amusing.

Basically I used my mother’s sugar cookie recipe and created nerd faces by using the following:

Lady Sensory’s Nerdy Thirtysomething Cookies

Use cookie and icing recipes found here and make the faces by using a round cookie cutter.  Tint the icing a flesh color with food coloring. Make the eyeglasses by using white chocolate wafers (extra-large white chocolate chips used to make chocolate candy) and a black or very dark-colored icing decorating pen.  Decorate the cookies with assorted Wonka Nerd candies, sanding sugar and Wilton Icing Writers.  The cookies will  generally be vanilla flavored, but will have a little burst of tartness from the Nerd candies.  These aren’t difficult but they are time-consuming. Be sure to block yourself a few hours.

I had so much fun last night that I decided to start a detox cleanse today and will be doing that for the next three weeks.  No coffee.  No sugar.  No wheat.  No dairy.  No booze.  Basically, no fun.  So I’m enjoying my shakes in these cool new goblets I got from a friend for the birthday.  Today’s shake was made from organic pumpkin with some pumpkin pie spices added for a little extra flavor.  I think I’d rather have a glass of wine and a cookie.   I’ll keep you posted on how this cleanse works out.  In the meantime, have a few laughs at my expense as I pose in my nerd costume with some freshly picked flowers from my friend.  Yes, the roots are still on them. Classy!

She-nerd-igans!

Pumpkin Pie shake in one of my awesome new Ball Mason Jar Goblets.

4 thoughts on “Revenge of the Nerds

Leave a Reply

