Go Fish!

Standard

Cod in citrus basil marinade…

Do you like fish?  No, not the card game – actual fish.  Because I ate broiled fish seven days in a row for this detox.  Salmon. Salmon. Halibut. Cod. Tuna. Salmon. Salmon.  Don’t broil cod. Ever. It’s really gross broiled.  The hefty part of this cleanse will be over by next week when I start reintroducing some of the foods I cut.  I don’t know about you but I really need a taste of my four favorite food groups: butter, wine, eggs and cheese.  I finally enjoyed some chicken yesterday and I’ve never been so excited to eat a baked chicken breast in my life.  I had hoped to share a recipe for chicken’s delightful accompaniment of wild rice pilaf with mushrooms and leeks but when I made it, the pilaf didn’t turn out to be as tasty as I envisioned.  There have been many trials and errors during this detox process and I don’t share boring and bland dishes with my peeps.  I recommend you try this risotto instead.

So to make healthy broiled and baked items every night that actually taste good, you need to have some snazzy marinades up your sleeve.  I’m going to arm you with two and one was actually tweaked a little and used on the chicken. Here we go:

Lady Sensory’s Bright Citrus Basil Marinade:

Zest and juice the following:

3 clementines (or small tangerines)

2 limes

1 lemon

Then add:

5 large fresh basil leaves, finely chopped

1 tbsp raw honey

1 tsp cider vinegar

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

2-3 tbsp of Wegmans Basting Oil (it’s an oil with a mild garlic flavor and herbs, if you can’t get it near you, substitute olive oil with 1 pressed/minced clove of garlic and a couple of tablespoons of fresh chopped parsley)

Salt and pepper, to taste

Cod with a tasty baked yam.

Mix all ingredients in an airtight container and this will keep for a few days.  When ready to use, rinse the fish well and rub with salt and pepper (and a little Old Bay, if you like). Use about 1/4 cup per each piece of fish and allow to sit in the marinade for no longer than 20 minutes (the citrus will start to cook the fish). Place on a lightly oiled broiler pan and broil, flipping once, for 6-8 minutes total, depending on the thickness of your fish. Serve with other healthy items or simply blow it all on some unhealthy treats and a healthy pour of your favorite vino. But whatever you do, don’t broil the cod because it seems to really affect the texture (the flavor of the fish was fine). Save cod for pan-searing and use salmon, halibut, or tuna instead.

Lady Sensory’s Old-School Lemon Garlic Marinade

I’ve been preparing salmon and other fish with this since I taught myself how to cook in my first apartment with 1 square foot of counter space.  This is easy and always delicious.

2 cloves pressed/minced garlic

Zest and juice of 1 lemon

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp fresh parsley (or dried if that is all you have)

Salt & pepper, to taste

1-2 fish filets – salmon is my favorite for this one, but I’ve also used it on swordfish, halibut, and sea bass. See below for info on how to prepare for chicken.

Mix all ingredients well. You can rub fish ahead of time with Old Bay, dill, or any dried herbs of your choice. When ready to prepare, pour mixture over fish and allow to sit no longer than twenty minutes.  Broil on a lightly oiled broiler pan for 6-8 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fish.

Lemon Garlic chicken with that mushroom wild rice pilaf and roasted Brussels sprouts

* For 1.5 lbs of chicken, double this recipe and add 1 tbsp of raw honey and 1 tbsp of Dijon mustard. You will marinate the chicken anywhere from 3-8 hours (or overnight).  Unlike fish, the longer the chicken sits in the mixture, the more tender and flavorful it will be. Lay on a foil covered baking sheet and bake the chicken at 350 degrees Farenheit for about 30-35 minutes (when the chicken is no longer pink inside).

This cleanse has been kind of a pain socially (people really look at you like you’ve lost your mind when you tell them you aren’t eating or drinking things that you normally enjoy), but it’s forced me to try new foods and preparation methods and not be so dependent on my trusty butter and wine. However, I’m fairly certain that butter and wine would have salvaged both the rice pilaf and the cod.  Butter and wine seem to solve most problems. I bet they’d make excellent presidential candidates with absolutely no binders of women.

2 thoughts on “Go Fish!

Leave a Reply

