Cheez-it is the Reason for the Season…and a Giveaway!

Standard

On Friday night, my friend hosted her annual ornament exchange party. People got a little bit feisty and a little bit tipsy.  I created my own ornament, as I did last year.  In addition to her mustache fetish, my friend also has a Cheez-it addiction.  I made her Cheez-it earrings for her birthday and decided to stay on the same thread because I knew there would be a lot of ‘stache-themed ornaments. Feast your eyes on this year’s specimen (and please don’t be offended – this is meant to be humorous):

It was a big hit. I won a prize and was delighted to get another bracelet from Peppermint to add to my collection. They are made by a company called Lily and Laura and are hand beaded by women in Nepal. I’m pretty sure they offer better than fair trade wages to these women. So not only do you look stylish, you are supporting a good cause.  I’d been a little under the weather and still am, so I decided to make some hot adult cider so I could soothe my throat while getting as tipsy as the rest of the gang.  The nice thing about this is that you add the booze at the end. So non-drinkers can have it before you spike it, and drinky-drinky guests will appreciate that none of the booze evaporates. To make your own I suggest the following:

Lady Sensory’s Holiday Boozy Cider

8-10 cups of apple cider

1/2 cup apple brandy (Applejack or Calvados)

1 cup of bourbon or rum (more or less depending on your taste, I went with bourbon)

One shot glass full of vanilla extract

1 cinnamon stick, 3-4 green cardamom pods, 1 nutmeg, and 8-10 whole cloves wrapped in a cheesecloth

1/2 teaspoon each of Saigon cinnamon, allspice and ginger

Pour the cider into a 4.5 quart pot with the ground and cheesecloth-wrapped spices and bring to a light boil. Reduce heat to low and skim the foamy stuff off of the top and simmer for about 5-10 minutes. Turn heat off and add the alcohol and stir. Serve immediately. If you don’t have the whole spices, you can certainly subsitute ground spices.

So I’ve decided I’ve been blogging long enough to try one of these crazy blog giveaways.  I’ve decided some lucky reader is going to win one pair of Cheez-it earrings, made by yours truly, because Cheez-it is the reason for the season. Here’s what you have to do:

Lady Sensory’s Super-Cheezy Social Media Giveaway:

Adorable Cheez-it earrings - and you can win them!

Adorable Cheez-it earrings – and you can win them!

In order to be entered into the draw, there are two steps.

Step 1: You must do one of the following:

‘Like’ The Sensory Cart Facebook page and ‘like’ this post on the Facebook page timeline

OR

Follow @LadySensory on Twitter and retweet the link featuring this post to your followers

If you are already a Facebook fan or Twitter follower, great!  Thank you very much, but please still like this post or retweet it to be entered.

THEN

Step 2: Leave a comment here that you have done so by 5:oo PM Eastern-Standard-Time on Friday, December 14, 2012 and you’ll be entered in the draw. I will draw a winner randomly and announce on Saturday 12/15/12. And yes, I will mail them to you if you are international. Just bear in mind with the holiday season, they might take a while to get to you. That’s it. Good luck. Ho ho ho!

In the meantime, I’ll be baking cookies. I made these last night from a recipe I found on Gourmet Live. I stuck pretty closely to the recipe, and you can find it here but I’m drumming up a possible new filling idea and if successful, I will post. I’m heading back into the kitchen. Toodles!

Lime Macaroons from Gourmet Live

Lime Macaroons from Gourmet Live

3 thoughts on “Cheez-it is the Reason for the Season…and a Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

