Smooth Move

Standard
Beets and carrots make delightful smoothie additions

Beets and carrots make delightful smoothie additions

My pre/post-holiday fun (and Mayan hot chocolate sampling) has come to and end and it’s time to hit the cleanse again.  I’ve read numerous comments about the word, cleanse.  Some of the funniest/wittiest were from a woman who blogs here and she had some great tweets about cleanses.  One was something to the effect of, ‘If your organs aren’t cleaning your system properly you don’t need a cleanse, you need to go to the hospital’ and then there was another one begging people to stop calling it a ‘cleanse’ when it’s a diet.  Mind you, I’m paraphrasing these tweets because they were from about a month ago, but she’s a lot of fun to follow on Twitter.

Now back to the cleanse.  For the most part I eat pretty healthy, but I’m also out a lot which means I get more than my fill of cocktails and questionably prepared food (meaning: I don’t really know how the cook greased that skillet or how they prepared the potatoes).  I did this cleanse (a.k.a. diet or detox) in the fall and I’m doing it again. I really liked how good I felt after eating super clean for three weeks and it resets your healthy eating habits so you tend to make better food choices afterward.  And as a bonus, it also helps me fit in my pants more comfortably.

Part of this cleanse includes daily smoothies.  While on this, the smoothie allows for the most fun in the kitchen because you can mix and match any fruits and veggies you like. Let’s face it, if you have to drink two big ones, you want them to be as tasty as they are healthy.  I’ve been sneaking some kale into my smoothies for an extra dose of veggies but since I’ve done that for the past few days, I thought it would be fun to experiment with other veggies.  It’s recommended that people enjoy at least one beet daily on this.  Luckily, I like beets and often roast them and put them on salads.  Lately, I’ve been researching how the nutritional benefits of beets diminish after cooking (like other fruits and veggies) and I thought it would be fun to experiment since I picked some beets up at the market.

Lady Sensory’s Pretty in Pink Drink

(Beet and Carrot Smoothie)

You will need a blender, a food processor or grater and the following:

1 medium to large beet, peeled and cut into chunks

1/2  cup organic baby carrots

Juice of three small oranges (I used 2 clementines and a blood orange and I highly recommend the blood orange if you can get your hands on one)

1.5 tbsp grated fresh ginger

2 tbsp flax-seed oil

4 heaping tbsp of the shake powder of your choice (I use Standard Process SP Complete)

1  16 oz bottle of cold spring water

1 frozen banana cut into slices (I buy a bunch of bananas, ripen them, slice them, and pop them in the freezer to make my life easier)

Approximately 1.5 cups of frozen fruit to top off the blender  (I recommend pineapple, mango, cherry and maybe a couple of strawberries if you have room)

I usually make sure the lip of my glass is clean but I couldn't wait to take a sip. Sorry!

I usually make sure the lip of my glass is clean but I couldn’t wait to take a sip. Sorry!

You can make your carrot and beet mixture a day or two in advance. Shred the raw beet and carrot in the food processor (use the special grater blade) or a grater if you don’t have a food processor.  Place shredded veggies into an airtight plastic container and add the juice of your three chosen citrus and the fresh grated ginger. Pop in the fridge for a few hours or let sit overnight.  In a blender, combine the banana, beet/carrot mixture, flax-seed oil, shake powder, water and remaining fruits. You may have to use a spoon or the food pusher that comes with the blender because this shake is thick. Blend until well combined. It should have almost a soft-ice cream consistency and a cheerful bright coral pink color. I like to eat it with a spoon. As it thaws it becomes less ice cream-like and more drinkable. The pineapple and ginger make it nice and refreshing. Would it be better with some gin in it? Yeah, probably.

If you have fun and healthy smoothie ideas that don’t have any dairy, wheat or nut products in them, free to share in the comments.  Yes, unlike The Bachelor, I am completely nut-free for the next several weeks.

Leave a Reply

