Why Avocados Are Better Than Men Part Deux

Standard
This hot mess looks like something out of a Ghostbusters movie.

This hot mess looks like something out of a Ghostbusters movie.

Avocados are considered a fruit and are totally acceptable as part of this new healthy eating plan.  I learned this the last time around when I whipped up this tasty soup.  Despite avocados being a little high in fat, the fat is good for you and they are packed with tons of nutrients. I’ve been so good lately.  I’ve been eating well, working on my fitness, and trying to keep my snarkiness in check.  It’s only natural that I’m going to fall off the wagon after a brutal week.  So, I enjoyed a little wine at the end of the week without getting too cray-cray.  This morning while listening to a little Squeeze, I realized I won’t be having any black coffee in bed anytime soon (too much caffeine).  However, chocolate was an option.  I’d been contemplating the chocolate avocado mousse I enjoyed at The Owl House prior to the cleanse.  I happened to have a bag of avocados and a well stocked pantry.  I call that serendipitous.  So let’s do this, people.  Let’s have a dessert that’s kind of good for us today. We deserve it!

Lady Sensory’s Tempted By The Fruit of Another Chocolate-Almond Avocado Pudding

You will need a food processor or a blender.  This makes two servings.

This looks more like pudding.

This looks more like pudding.

1 avocado, peeled, pitted and chopped

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tbsp Justin’s Maple Almond Butter (you can use any almond butter but this is sooooooo good!)

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

4-5 tbsp real maple syrup (not pancake syrup)

Pinch of salt (optional)

Pulse all of these ingredients into the bowl of your food processor, scrape the sides down once and finish blending.  Transfer to a festive serving bowl. You can garnish with fresh fruit or almond slices if you like. Serve immediately or refrigerate in an airtight container and serve within one day.  After a few bites of this, you’ll forget all about that jerk who blew you off for a moron.  Hmmmm. I think that may be construed as snarky. Whoopsie!

Voilà - the final result!

Voilà – the final result!

6 thoughts on “Why Avocados Are Better Than Men Part Deux

    • Yes, it does make quite a bit. It’s even better after you chill it for a few hours (it gets a little thicker). My friend asked (because of the fat content) if you could divide it into 4 smaller portions (i.e. her husband and two kids) and I told her you definitely could. It would be kind of elegant in an espresso cup with a few berries and almond slivers….

      • Nicole

        It did make much more than I expected! It was good the next day too. And since I still have avocados, I’m making it again tonight! Fat content be damned! Ha ha 🙂

      • Ha ha! I’ve been thinking about it all week. Glad you are enjoying it. If I wasn’t so naughty at this party last night (they had Hedonist chocolate and other assorted treats) I would totally whip it up again. Now I have to behave myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

