Great Balls of Yarn

Standard
Susan, the yarn pro, and her Knitwits.

Susan, the yarn pro, and her Knitwits.

So I mentioned yesterday that I would be blogging every day in November (tagged #BEDN on Twitter).  Today’s topic is dedicated to “something you made.”  Since I’m regularly posting about things I make in the kitchen I thought I would post something a little bit different today.  Since I was an art major, you can probably gather that I’m an artsy fartsy gal.  A few things I never mastered in school or in my free time are sewing and knitting.

My grandmother on my mother’s side was an amazing knitter – she could do any sort of pattern and made beautiful sweaters, scarves, baby and doll clothes, placemats, and pretty much anything else you could possibly imagine.  Unfortunately, she passed away before she could teach me how to knit. I then had a pathetic crochet attempt in my twenties at the nursing home where I worked.  Fiber arts and I just never made friends.

We decided to have a good old-fashioned slumber party last night complete with nail polish, movies, candy and a few adult beverages…and a couple of well-behaved children who went to bed early.  My fabulous friend, Susan, is a super knitter (and her kids are pretty crafty as well) and made it her goal to teach me how to knit. So while enjoying some Mean Girls, The Princess Bride, champagne, treats, and a tasty Pinot Noir from Thirsty Owl, here’s how I did:

My future handmade scarf...

My future handmade scarf…

“Inconceivable,” right?!?!  I know I still have a bit of work to do since it’s going to be a scarf but I’m pretty proud of myself.   She also picked out just the right shade of green to match my fun new coat from Treasure Trove Vintage. Susan’s adorable kids also taught me how to make one of those trendy new bracelets composed of those brightly colored orthodontist rubber bands a couple of weeks ago.  It’s so “fetch!”

IMG_1461

2 thoughts on “Great Balls of Yarn

Leave a Reply

