Different Strokes for Different Folks

Standard
Image of Gary Coleman www.ranker.com

Image of Gary Coleman http://www.ranker.com

Today I’m supposed to blog about “something different” for Blog Every Day in November (#BEDN).  I feel like I’ve already been doing that, but the first idea that came to mind was an outfit of the day (#OOTD) and corresponding selfie. I couldn’t decide which ‘unenjoyment‘ hoodie and old sweatpants ensemble I’d most like to present to the world so I decided to pass on that idea.

After that, I thought I’d post about television shows with the word, ‘different,’ in the title.  I could only come up with Diff’rent Strokes starring Gary Coleman and A Different World, (the Cosby Show spinoff) starring Lisa Bonet.

That pretty much sums it up.

So then I decided to play around with a ‘different’ recipe for vegetarian friends (and friends who currently can’t have fatty food).  Here’s the resulting lentil burger recipe:

Lady Sensory’s Whatchoo Talkin’ ‘Bout Willis Lentil Burger:

2 cups brown/wild rice blend, cooked

2 cups cooked lentils

3 cloves garlic

1 medium onion

1/2 cup carrots

1 medium red bell pepper

1.5 tbsp Madras Curry (or curry of your choice)

1/2 tsp Garam Masala

1/4 tsp cumin (you can add more, if you like it – I tend to scale back on cumin)

1/4 tsp Hungarian paprika

1/4 tsp ginger

Pinch of cayenne pepper (or more, to taste)

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tbsp tahini (sesame paste)

1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs

1/3 – 1/2 cup rolled oats

1-2 tbsp olive oil (if you choose to cook in a pan on the stove)

In a food processor, pulse the garlic first, then follow with onions, pepper and carrot and pulse until finely chopped (but not pureed).  Add the cooked rice, oats, breadcrumbs and pulse some more.  Finish with the spices, tahini and 1 cup of the cooked lentils. Pulse until mixture comes together.  Now combine with the remaining lentils and form patties. This made 10 patties and you can choose how you’d like to cook them. I wanted to make some for a friend since she just had gall bladder surgery and is limited in what she can eat. I made her my vegan lentil soup last week and that was a big hit. Since these are also vegan, they are very low in fat and should be easy on the digestive system. I decided to bake 5 for her (she can’t have anything cooked in oil yet) on a parchment-lined cookie sheet at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 15-20 minutes (remove when golden brown). I prepared mine in a skillet on the stove with about 2 tbsp of olive oil, cooking 4-6 minutes on each side until golden brown. I also did them in small batches so there was sufficient room to flip them.  I’ve prepared black bean burgers in advance and successfully frozen them before so that’s what I’m doing with all the remaining patties.

Since they are a bit spicy, I recommend serving with a simple yogurt-lemon sauce, and some kale or spinach. You can have it open faced if you are being carb-conscious or serve on a nice crusty roll.  Yogurt-lemon sauce can be made with 1 cup of plain Greek yogurt, the juice and zest of one lemon and  any fresh herbs you like (parsley, mint or even dill might be nice). I didn’t have any yogurt in the house tonight so I just made a simple lemon vinaigrette (lemon juice and a little olive oil) and had it on kale and it was tasty. Now I have to clean all my pans in the kitchen. Has anyone else noticed how much cleanup seems to be involved when trying to cook healthy? Oh hey – now that’s something different!

Gary and the lentil burgers

Leave a Reply

