Veterans Day

Standard
My grandfather pictured with my mother (I had no images of him in uniform), my uncle at his barracks and a group of us on my first birthday. Pointy hats required!

My grandfather pictured with my mother (I had no images of him in uniform), my uncle at his barracks and a group of us on my first birthday. Pointy hats required!

My mother’s father served in the Korean War and her brother was also in the service. As a kid, it didn’t matter where we were. If she saw a Veteran selling those paper poppies she would get one for each of us. Β She would usually find something to tie hers to inside her car. Β As an adult, admittedly I’ve done the same and I still keep a few tied to the top of my easel. She would also bring me to visit my grandfather’s grave on both Memorial Day and Veterans Day in Skaneateles, New York. She additionally found other ways to give back to organizations that supported Veterans to honor my grandfather and others who have served our country.

Today’s #BEDN post is better late than never and the topic is “Remembrance Day” also known as “Armistice Day” or “Poppy Day” in the U.K. Here in the United States, it’s Veterans Day, but the meaning is universal.Β Β Remember to honor and thank those who have given or risked their lives to serve and protect our freedom.

Leave a Reply

