Riding the Hobby Horse

Standard
Image from Mister Rogers' Neighborhood (www.neighborhoodarchive.com)

Image from Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood (www.neighborhoodarchive.com)

Today I’m supposed to write about hobbies for Blog Everyday in November (#BEDN). Talking about my hobbies on here seems a little redundant to me because if you read my blog, you pretty much know my interests. I’m into food and cooking, wine and cocktails, and travel. I obviously like writing or I probably wouldn’t have a blog.  So let’s just discuss the word, hobby, and all its bizarre connotations.

Of course, the first thing that comes to mind is the movie, The Breakfast Club, and that quote, “Well Brian was just telling me you and he are presently riding the hobby horse.” If you need me to explain what riding the hobby horse is, then we should probably move on.

The second thing ‘hobby’ makes me think of is an obscure old episode of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood. Background info is here and image is above, but basically there is a character called the Hobby Horse Express Man. That’s right up there with Mr. McFeely on my list of worst character names of all time.

The third item this topic reminds me of is Hobby Lobby and their whole, “We’re not open on Sundays” policy. Lately, I’ve been trying to get back into my artsy fartsy/ crafty hobbies. Those are things that should not have fallen to the wayside, but since Hobby Lobby is not open on Sundays I have a convenient scapegoat for why projects aren’t quite finished. Okay, so that excuse probably works better for employed people, but I’m sure you get my point.

Leave a Reply

