Oh Lawd, Yeezus. It’s a Video.

Standard
'Bound 2' video screen shot from www.ellentv.com

‘Bound 2’ video screen shot from http://www.ellentv.com

The Blog Every Day in November (#BEDN) topic of the day is about television. I’m not a big television-watcher and I thought I covered that a couple of days ago with my “newsflash” post. Now I have to dig deeper for what I witnessed on my telly long after Kathie Lee and Hoda passed out from their Skinny Girl cocktails.

Ladies and gentlemen, I watched the Ellen show. I love Ellen DeGeneres. A personal favorite of my mother’s, Ellen has been a part of my life since I was a kid. This post has no bearing on my opinion of Ellen, whatsoever.

So Ellen invited Kanye West on her show to present his new ‘Bound 2’ video to the world. I watched it. Then I went straight to the Twitter to find out if I was crazy or if everyone else thought it was as nutso as I did. As it turns out, my feelings were validated. By many.

Words can’t even describe the ridiculous display of weirdness in this video. We had mountains, galloping horses, deserts, flannel, tie-dye, Kim sans top, and bumpy rides on motorcycles. I sat there waiting for the punchline the entire time. I don’t even know how Ellen kept a straight face. I actually wanted to see a Dr. Phil episode after Ellen for cathartic purposes. Does anyone ever really want to see a Dr. Phil episode? WTF?!

Truth be told, I am glad Kanye seems to have found happiness with Ms. Double-K. I generally like his musical offerings and will have a “toast for the douchebags” any old day of the week, but this song isn’t even a song. In the words of Kanye himself and his buddy, Jay-Z, “That shit cray.”

In addition to my Twitter reaction analysis, I decided to test the waters at dinner last night and see what my friend (who blogs over here) thought about the whole thing.  Here are just a few of her musings:

Where is the sidecar for North West? My boyfriend enjoys that song and said he likes the whole Bajeezus album. I may have to take back my words when I said we listen to the same music. When that album dropped, I was convinced Kanye was a closet Beverly Cleary fan. And now I want to re-read Beezus and Ramona and Ramona Quimby Age 8.” 

That pretty much sums up my television experience for the week. If you haven’t seen it yet, please watch it for yourselves here and feel free to comment.

2 thoughts on “Oh Lawd, Yeezus. It’s a Video.

  1. Beth

    holy. hell. i’m not sure i have any words…. that video was ridiculous!!! However, I thoroughly enjoyed your review, that’s for sure. So maybe it was worth the images I will now try to scrub out of my brain. ick! ack! who the hell thought that was a good idea? If I was in a band, desperately trying to get my video produced, this would totally fill me with rage. okay, so maybe I had a few words…

Leave a Reply

