Holiday Traditions?

Standard
"I may be a sweetheart now, but no one pees on the diva!" Photo from http://www.who2.com

“I may be a sweetheart now, but no one pees on the diva!”
Photo from http://www.who2.com

With Christmas being only a month away, “holiday traditions” are on deck for today’s Blog Every Day in November (#BEDN). I’m no Ebony Scrooge (yes, please cue the Vanessa Williams classic, A Diva’s Christmas Carol), but my Holiday spirits aren’t quite what they used to be. Let me give you a summary:

1) I’m not a fan of the cold and snow and it’s only gotten worse as I’ve gotten older. I’ve actually hightailed it out of the country to warmer destinations for the past several years.

2) I have no kids and let’s be honest –  there really isn’t anything better than watching kids get excited about Christmas, Santa, and opening presents.

3) Everything has become so materialistic and people get quite nasty and impatient in retail establishments at this time of year. I know this because I have worked in retail during the holidays. This is very sad to me considering it’s usually a person who is generally more fortunate than others.

With those items in mind, I resolve to do the following:

1) While I won’t be leaving the country, I will be getting out of this cold and somewhere warm. That makes me very happy. Extremely happy. I don’t think you even understand how badly I need to see some sun right now.

2) I will be spending time around my friends’ kids in the hopes that some of that Rudolph-loving infectious disease rubs off on me. However, I do not want any of the daycare cooties, so please steer clear if your kid has the sniffles.

3) I will find ways to give back or get involved in any capacity I can. I’ve already talked about Breakfast with Krampus, but my financial buddy puts on an annual fundraiser every December that benefits two local non-profits called Farley’s Friends Give Back. This year’s event takes place on December 2 and will benefit the Rahema Home and Fairport Baptist Homes. There will be snacks, raffle items, and all sorts of amusement for a good cause.

4) In lieu of our annual post-Christmas/ pre-New Year dinner celebration, I’m spending some quality time with my high-school peeps right now since everyone seems to be in town. Here are a couple of us with Santa last year. And just ignore that giant goblet in front. Santa knows that we’re only occasionally naughty.

Santa-ngelo's in Liverpool, NY

Santangelo’s Santa in Liverpool, NY

5) I will bake my mother’s cut-out cookies at some point. Recipe can be found here. Disregard the rainbow sprinkles pictured and substitute with holiday colors of your choice. I may have a few other holiday baked goods up my sleeve as well.

6) While I will participate in my friend’s annual ornament exchange and have developed quite the ornament collection, I still refuse to put up a tree for the 6th year in a row. Come on now, people. “Ain’t nobody got time fo’ that!”

Sweet Brown

4 thoughts on “Holiday Traditions?

  1. I totally relate! I quit pretending to enjoy the commercialized Christmas just for the sake of my child. We haven’t put up a tree in many years. I do have some ornaments, like you, but they’re stored up somewhere in our stuff. I don’t even remember what is in that container of holiday stuff. I do enjoy the Christmas music and lights though. I don’t put up lights. I just go experience the lights elsewhere. There’s no shortage of holiday lights or music. The radio stations start playing holiday music around the end of October.

Leave a Reply

