A Bigger, Blacker Friday

Standard

CAH PackagingToday is Thanksgiving and the recommended Blog Every Day in November (#BEDN) topic is the great outdoors. Since we’ve had our first official snowfall here (yuck!), it’s highly likely that my time spent outside will be limited to driving to and from my friends’ new home to celebrate Friendsgiving. So, I’ve picked another topic to discuss.

What’s this post title all about, you ask? Well, our group has a habit of playing the game, Cards Against Humanity. So, this is merely a play on words combining the traditional post-Thanksgiving Black Friday shopping day here in the U.S. with a couple of the cards that say, “A big, black dick” and “A bigger, blacker dick.”  One of our hosts just got the latest edition of cards, appropriately named, “Bigger, Blacker Box.” If you haven’t played, I caution you to only play with people who aren’t easily offended and those who share the same depraved sense of humor. It’s basically like playing Apples to Apples infused with all things inappropriate and politically incorrect. Actually, if you’re interested you can print your own set by visiting here.

Speaking of Black Friday, what is the deal with all these petitions people are posting online to save Thanksgiving? Apparently some of the larger retailers are open on Thanksgiving day for their sales. I am sympathetic here, and that’s because I worked in retail and I know how crazy people can get during a sale. However, I also worked in healthcare for many years and had to cover holidays despite that I wasn’t in a vital life-saving role. Seriously – I even had to be there when I was a sales and marketing director. I did find it kind of ridiculous, but Thanksgiving and the Fourth of July were actually the holidays I would bid on because you could easily be taken in somewhere after your shift was over. So if you are off today, be grateful. It’s not always a given!

As far as today’s Friendsgiving goes, we have folks with an assortment of diets and tastes coming to this gathering so I will be bringing this oldie but goodie. Nope, it’s not vegan, fat-free, nor gluten-free, but it’s pretty damn delicious. As for hitting the sales today or getting up early and shopping tomorrow? No, thank you. I will be passing on that insanity. If anything at all, I’ll partake from the comfort of home via “the internets.”

I hope your turkey day is filled with magnificent F-words like family, friends, food, and fun. What? You thought I was going to say something else, didn’t you?  Be thankful! We haven’t busted out the cards just yet!

Leave a Reply

